northern lights

Canadian Content: Awarded to players on Canadian NHL teams accumulating the most three-star selection over the course of a season, the Molson Cup has a history going back to the early 1970s. It remains a going concern for the Montreal Canadiens (Nick Suzuki won the 2021-22 edition). The Vancouver Canucks maintain their own version of the award, too, now called, poetically, the Three Stars Award — J.T. Miller won it for 2021-22— but it seems as though the rest of the Canadian teams have let the tradition lapse in recent years. The winners, here, from 1982-83 are, clockwise from top left: Rick Vaive (Toronto), Lanny McDonald (Calgary), Mario Tremblay (Montreal), Thomas Gradin (Vancouver), Dale Hawerchuk (Winnipeg), and Wayne Gretzky (Edmonton).